On Spiritual Refugees

I enjoy looking into the goings-on in my cousin denominations. Every once and a while, I will check in on them, making sure that they are okay. Some I watch more closely than others. One church has piqued my interest and I have been following the drama since it started: The Methodist church and the homosexuality question.

Now, before you think, dear readers, that this is simply another tirade on this issues, offering a solution or lamblasting the opposing site, it is not. I want to take this space to talk about the victims of such discussions. I think homosexuality is wrong and the church should actively minister to those in that lifestyle, that needs to be stated first and foremost. I agree with the Traditional churches on this issue. However, though it looks like the Methodists have discovered a solution, there are still countless people on both sides of this debate hurt deeply. In fact, some may choose to leave rather than see their home denomination split. They have become “spiritual refugees.”¹

These people, fleeing the chaos of their denomination falling in around them, will be hurting. They will feel betrayed by those in their local church on the other side of the debate. They will be grieving at the loss and unfamiliar with their new surroundings (assuming they join another church.) Spiritual refugees, I predict, are going to be a new wave of people the American church is going to have to deal with, especially the more conservative denominations.

I grew up in a Wesleyan church. I loved it and I love the theology. I have been insulated from the chaos that other denominations have been fighting for a while. Creeping relativism, an adoption of liberal theology that rips those churches from their historical underpinnings. It was not until I began working occasionally as a musician at a local Methodist church that I discovered the great rift. Seeing congregants horrified at the change in their denomination was heart-breaking. They felt, like I said, betrayed and alone. Their home was, essentially, considering rejecting them and their strong-held beliefs.

I started thinking, “Where will these people find a home if the Methodists go a certain way?” As a Wesleyan of Wesleyans, I cannot imagine what it would feel like to leave your denomination. This is where I think the local church can help immensely. Now, I am not talking about poaching congregants from churches, but there needs to be a way to minister specifically to the needs to spiritual refugees when they walk through the church doors. I do not know what it is going to look like, but I think churches need to prepare. I am familiar with my Arminian friends and discussions in the Nazarene church and Methodist churches will be producing spiritual refugees. In the Calvinist world, there is talk of the Southern Baptist church losing its moorings.

I would say to churches with spiritual refugees, allow people to mourn, but do not allow much negative-church bashing to occur. There is a difference between destructive talk and helpful disagreement. To those spiritual refugees looking for a new home, I would counsel a few things. First, if you are a (conservative) Arminian, run to the Wesleyan church. I am serious. We are enough of a middle-way denomination, you will feel comfortable here. Also, do not run to the most opposite denomination. To go to the nearest Bible-believing fundamentalist denomination would be a mistake. It will make you hard and bitter rather than facilitating your healing.  Weep over your hurt and betrayal and forgive. A closer denomination theologically and structurally can help heal your heart.

As denominations have these difficult conversations and divisions, I think that there will be a wave of refugees looking for a spiritual home. I hope and pray that they find it.

  1. Credit to my mother for coming up with this phrase.

Leave a comment